The Morning After

Time check: 6:41 am

Why I am awake this early is a question I cannot answer, especially when I slept at around 1: 40 am last night.

The feeling of waking up is bittersweet. It’s Sunday, just a few more hours before I face the reality (although tomorrow’s a holiday and I won’t be back in the office til Wednesday). But on the brightest side, at least I got to see my favorite band last night.

For the past few months, years maybe, I thought that I’ve outgrown being the girl who listens to bands and finds herself in the middle of the crowd. Those were what I did during my teenage years, and since I’m 21 now, I thought I moved on and found new hobbies.

The Maine has been my favorite band for about 5 or 6 years now. I witnessed them change their music, release album all on their own, and grow as a band, and with them, I’ve grown as a person as well. I knew I had to come to their shows in my country whenever I get the chance.

I did not expect much from last night. Honestly, I thought I’ll just be somewhere at the back, away from the crowd, just chilling and dancing to their music. I’d let the younger ones have the time of their lives, this is just a break from work, I said to myself.

I ended up being among the first rows from the stage. I don’t even have a clue how I got there, but I was sure that after 3 or 4 songs, I’d scurry my way away from this thick sweaty people to steal some oxygen. But some unknown force helped me stay in my spot and not pass out during the show.

It flashed back to me why I’ve always loved going to shows. It occurred to me that it’s more that just taking photos, but living the moment. I understood the decisions I had when I was a teen to starve myself just to afford tickets to this kind of shows. The rush, the community, the band, the music, the feeling – everything seems so perfectly imperfect. In that moment, although there were a lot of times that I knew I’d lose my breath, I felt so alive. I felt limitless. I’d do anything just for this moment to be mine. I wasn’t able to take kickass photos that I can post online, but I don’t regret anything. It’s enough for me to take up that space and feel every second of last night.

The Maine. That band means a lot to me. This is cliche, but I can really say that they helped me in so many ways. I love how passionate they are in what they’re doing. Leaving a huge record label and making music on their own, I could not be more proud of them. If you’ve been to their shows, you’ll see in their eye how grateful they are and how much they love every single person in this little community they have created. I can never explain fully way and how much I love this band. If you haven’t heard of them yet, go to Spotify, listen to them, savor every word, and just give them a try. You may or may not feel something, but you are up for a great music.

I don’t know if you have a favorite band and if you’ve seen them live, But I hope someday you’ll feel the madness I felt last night. I hope you’ll find your saving grace and I hope they inspire you to be a better person. I really hope you do.

 

What would you say if you could say everything you needed to, to the one you needed to?(Black Butterflies and Deja Vu)

Leave a Reply

